ADEA Enid A. Neidle Scholar-in-Residence Program


This Scholar-in-Residence Program honors Enid A. Neidle, former President of ADEA (1985-86). Under her leadership, ADEA adopted its policy of promoting the advancement of women in dental education. The program offers a unique opportunity for a dental educator to concentrate on issues affecting women faculty. 



The scholar receives a stipend up to $15,000 to pursue a cumulative two to three-month fellowship at the ADEA Office in Washington, DC. The scholar’s institution continues to provide salary and fringe benefits for the duration of the experience. While in Washington, DC, the scholar will gain a distinct perspective on issues facing women faculty, including promotion, advancement and tenure policies, entry and re-entry into the workforce, child care and elder care, women’s health, work patterns, advanced education and research opportunities and other gender-related issues. The scholar will be assigned to a senior ADEA staff member and will be involved in a range of ADEA activities in addition to her principal project. ADEA will be flexible in the arrangement of time away from the scholar’s institution.

Eligibility Requirements

An applicant must:

  • Be a full-time woman faculty member with a primary teaching appointment in a predoctoral or advanced dental educational program at an ADEA Member Institution (women junior dental and dental hygiene faculty members are encouraged to apply).
  • Be an ADEA Individual Member.

Application Deadline

All applications must be postmarked by Dec. 9, 2019. Applications will be returned if they are either incomplete or postmarked after Dec. 9, 2019.

Application Process Checklist

Submit three copies of the following documents by Dec. 9, 2019:

  1. The completed application form. PDF
  2. A personal statement addressing the following questions: 
    • What are the applicant’s general interests and expectations for the ADEA residency experience?
    • How will this experience help the applicant in her personal development?
    • How will this experience help the applicant’s institution, ADEA and ADEA members?
  3. A one-page summary that describes the proposed project (including project title).
  4. A letter of recommendation from the applicant’s dean or program director specifying how the fellowship would benefit the institution and the applicant, and agreeing to pay her salary and fringe benefits for the duration of the ADEA residency experience.
  5. A current curriculum vitae and a one-page summary highlighting experiences relevant to the program.
  6. A formal letter of support from an individual who will serve as a mentor and provide additional support to the applicant.

Submit applications to:

Enid A. Neidle Scholar-in-Residence Program for Women
ADEA Access Diversity and Inclusion
Attn: Angelo Lee                                                          
655 K Street NW, Suite 800
Washington, DC 20001

Or email applications to Dr. Sonya Smith, ADEA Chief Diversity Officer, at


Notification Date

Applicants for the Enid A. Neidle Scholar-in-Residence Program will receive a telephone interview in January 2020, prior to the 2020 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition, March 14–17, 2020 in National Harbor, MD.


Please contact Dr. Sonya Smith at 202-513-1171 with any questions.

Past Recipients

Dr. Deepthy Nair, University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry

Dr. Anita Sykes-Smith, Meharry Medical College School of Dentistry

Dr. Michelle Brady, University of the Pacific, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry

Dr. M. Nathalia Garcia, Southern Illinois University School of Dental Medicine

Dr. Mary McNally, Dalhousie University Faculty of Dentistry

Dr. Rhonda Everett, University of Nevada Las Vegas School of Dental Medicine

Dr. Ethel Harris, Meharry Medical College School of Dentistry

Dr. Rosalia Rey, University of Florida

Dr. Elena Nazarova, University of Connecticut

Prof. Machelle Thompson, Meharry Medical College

Prof. Sandra Osborne, Howard University

Dr. Karin Quick, University of Minnesota

Dr. Yoly Gonzalez-Stucker, University at Buffalo

Dr. Georgia Dounis, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Dr. Donna Grant-Mills, Howard University

Dr. Mildred McClain, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Prof. R. Denise Howe, Columbia University

Dr. Wendy Hupp, Nova Southeastern University

Dr. Mary Lynn Froeschle, University of Nebraska Medical Center

Dr. Nina Markovic, University of Pittsburgh

Dr. Paula Nesbitt, Meharry Medical College

Dr. Emrey Moskowitz, Boston University

Dr. Vicky Evangelidis-Sakellson, Columbia University

Dr. Deborah Studen-Pavlovich, University of Pittsburgh

Dr. Susan Silverton, University of Pennsylvania

Dr. Linda Wells, Baylor College of Dentistry

Dr. Kerry Maguire, University of Colorado Denver

Related Links